One quick question re: Rule 6.5.5....
If both jammers are in the penalty box at the start of a jam or are pulled mid-jam, the jam will stop immediately. Both jammers will turn over their helmet covers to alternate teammates on the track who will act as jammers. The penalized jammers in the box will re-enter play as blockers once their penalties have been served.
184.108.40.206 Players on the track may rotate position, but no player substitutions are allowed.
220.127.116.11 Any skater who was in the jam that was stopped may take on the role of jammer. If the pivot takes on the role, she should give the pivot helmet cover to another teammate on the track.
Situation is this: jam begins with one team having their jammer penalized for one minute-- in other words, only one jammer at the start of the jam. If the jammer gets penalized BEFORE the other jammer has served her time, does this automatically end the jam per the rule above? If so, can anyone recall it happening? Or is this new to the rules?
Answer (sort of): Per Justice Feelgood Marshall (via http://www.havederbywilltravel.com/commentary--analysis/wftda/wftda-2.1-rules-quick-reference.html):
6.5.5 -- change from 1.0.-- When both jammers are in the penalty box, the jam ends, a new jam begins with the same lineups, but the jammers trade their panties with a teammate already on the floor before going to the penalty box. When their penalties end, they rejoin the jam as blockers. This one can be tricky to quickly impose because it requires getting the same lineups out for both teams -- generally, when the skaters hear that jam-ending whistle, they've already gone back to their benches and the next lineup comes in.
As for version 2.0, do the GGRD Refs believe that they are a major improvement over version 1.0, or does WFTDA still have some room to manuever with the rules?