Hey derby fans,
Tomorrow at Queens vs. Bronx you'll see a few new rules put into play for the 2009 GGRD season. Personally I believe they'll help increase on-track action and fan enjoyment of the game.
The main highlights you're likely to see on Saturday night include:
(apologies for the legalese, but if you're reading this thread, you probably don't mind)...
- a revised 'jammerless jam' procedure. If one jammer is in the penalty box, and the other jammer joins her in the box, the first jammer is immediately released from the box. The second jammer then must serve the same amount of time that the original jammer served.
So theoretically if two jammers commit majors in rapid succession and both arrive in rapid sequence, they'll both be right back out on the track. Jams don't have to stop, the action keeps going, and both teams spend equal time without their point-scoring jammer.
Previously, a jammerless jam situation would immediately end the action and force the start of entirely new jam.
- Out-of-bounds obligations. If a skater blocks another out of bounds, but the initiating blocker herself also goes out of bounds (or down or out of the engagement zone), even for just a moment, the blocked-out skater is under no obligation to return in bounds behind that blocking skater who initiated the block.
Previously, if one skater knocked another out of bounds, the skater who was hit was under an obligation to get back in behind the initiating hitter in cases where the hitter stayed in play or got back up + in bounds first. Now there's no longer a race to get back up or get back in bounds first. If you go out of play at all when you block someone, she doesn't have to get back in behind you.
[editorial comment: This is likely to put a lot more pressure on defending blockers to respect the track boundaries.]
- Re-establishing position on the track. If a skater is knocked out of bounds, she's not considered back 'in bounds' until she is standing up on her skates and no longer touching the ground outside of play.
Previously, she was considered back in bounds if any part of her or her equipment touched ground back inside the track boundries.
(As before, skaters who are straddling the line are eligible to be hit, but may not initiate doing any hitting.)
Those are the biggies. So commit that to memory and enjoy the bout!